1 min read

Notes on Carnegie (Dale)

I recently read How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie. It was a compelling book and it was about time I got around to reading it.

This short post is my compilation of notes on key points from the book.

General Interactions

  • Give people good reputations to live up to
  • Avoid criticism - seldom produces positive results and makes you look bad
  • Birthday book - DC kept a book with people’s birthday’s notated. Get in touch with people on these days
  • Before meeting someone, read up on a subject in which they are interested
  • Smile
  • Talk in terms of others interest not your own
  • Remember names!
  • Always make the other person feel important
  • Always avoid the acute angle in discussion
  • Suit the bait for the fish
  • Begin with sincere praise, then critize. No “BUTs”
  • Dramatize your facts

Disagreements/Arguments

  • When challenged but you think you are correct, “I may be wrong, I frequently am, let’s examine the facts”
  • Admit when wrong quickly and emphatically
  • Avoid arguments like the plague
  • Emphasize points of agreement
  • Get the other person to say “Yes, Yes”
  • Think always from the other person’s point of view
  • Appeal to nobler motives
  • “I don’t blame you. If I was you, I’d feel as frustrated and bothered as you”